Autonomous Societies of Ministry of Electronics and Technology (MeitY)

The Department of Information Technology was renamed to The Department of Electronics and Information Technology in 2012. On 19 July 2016, DeitY was made into full-fledged Ministry,  known as the Ministry of Electronics and Technology (MeitY), bifurcating it from the Ministry of Communications and Information Technology.

In an earlier post here, the statutory authorities under Information Technology Act,2000 were discussed along with their functions. The Indian Government has been active regarding electronics technology sector much before the enactment of this legislation in 2000. A number of autonomous societies have been created since 1980s to promote electronics technology sector.

This post shall highlight the various autonomous societies, working under the Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology, (Government of India) –

S.No Centre Year of formation Location Role/Functions
1. Society for Applied Microwave Electronics Engineering and Research (SAMEER)


1984 Mumbai ,Chennai and Kolkata To undertake R & D work in the areas of Microwave Engineering and Electromagnetic Engineering Technology
2. Centre for Development of Advanced Computing (C-DAC) 1988 Pune  To act as premier R&D organization of the Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology (MeitY) for carrying out R&D in IT, Electronics and associated areas.
3. Centre for Materials for Electronics Technology (C-MET) 1990 Pune (with  three laboratories located in Pune, Hyderabad and Thrissur) To develop the knowledge base in electronic materials and their processing technology for Indian industries and to become a source of critical electronic materials, know-how and services for the industry and other sectors of economy.
4. National Institute of Electronics and Information Technology (NIELIT – Formerly DOEACC Society) 1990 New Delhi

(40 centres across India)

To carry out Human Resource Development and related activities in the area of Information, Electronics & Communications Technology (IECT) and act as National Examination Body to accredit institutes/organizations for conducting courses in IT in the non-formal sector


5. Software Technology Parks of India (STPI) 1991 New Delhi To promote the development and export of software and software services including Information Technology (I.T.) Enabled Services/ Bio-IT.
6. Education & Research in Computer Networking(ERNET) 1998 Chennai To act as the National Research and Education Network dedicated to support the needs of the research and education community within the country

Image from here

Bhumika Sharma

She is currently a Research Scholar, (PhD) at Himachal Pradesh University, Shimla. She finds peace in research and writing on a variety of social issues. She believes in the power of education and awareness to deal with various problems.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.